Skip to Main Content

APG Awards

Through our awards program, the Association of Professional Genealogists is pleased to honor the outstanding contributions our members make to the organization and the field of genealogy. Honorees are selected from among the nominees by the APG Awards Committee and recognized at the annual APG Professional Management Conference.

APG Award Categories

  • Laura G. Prescott Award for Exemplary Service to Professional Genealogy

    Recognizes service to the field of professional genealogy, in recognition of exemplary professionalism and continuing encouragement to other professional genealogists. It acknowledges those with a career devoted to uplifting fellow genealogists and improving their career circumstances and opportunities, and dedicated service to the field of professional genealogy.

  • Grahame T. Smallwood Jr. Award of Merit

    Given for personal commitment and outstanding service of a member to the APG organization.

  • Kathleen W. Hinckley Professional Achievement Award

    Given to highlight a record of exceptional professional achievement with contributions to the field of genealogy through individual excellence and ethical behavior.

  • APG Honorary Lifetime Member

    Recognizes and rewards an excellent body of work in genealogy which has spanned a significant length of time.

  • Certificates of Appreciation

    Recognition of outstanding, continual, or unusual contributions to APG, by a member or a non-member.

  • Young Professional Scholarship

    Recognizes a student and/or young professional with a significant interest in genealogy and with a strong interest in developing a professional career in genealogy

  • APGQ Excellence Award

    Recognizes excellence in submitted APGQ material.

  • Chapter/SIG Excellence Award

    Chapters or Special Interest Groups (SIGs) that show innovative and exemplary support and promotion of their members, APG, and the genealogy profession.