Skip to Main Content

Grahame T. Smallwood Jr. Award of Merit

The Grahame T. Smallwood Award of Merit was established by the Association of Professional Genealogists in 1981 and first awarded to its namesake, Grahame T. Smallwood Jr., an early leader of the Association. The award is generally presented annually to a member of the APG who has demonstrated long-term personal commitment and outstanding service to the Association.

Eligibility: Active APG Member in good standing

Criteria: Demonstration of a long-term (five-year minimum) commitment of meaningful service to the Association.

Selection: Nominations are solicited from members of the APG Board of Directors, Chapters, and Special Interest Groups. The recipient is selected by the APG Awards Committee, with approval of the Executive Committee.

Past Recipients:

2022   Cari A. Taplin, CG®
2021   Kenyatta Deshira Berry, JD
2020   Billie Stone Fogarty, MEd
2018    Diane Florence Gravel, CG
2017    Kimberly T. Powell
2016    Melanie D. Holtz, CG
2015    Amy E. K. Arner
2014    Laura Prescott
2013    Mary Penner
2012    Gordon Gray
2011    Jake Gehring
2010    Alvie L. Davidson, CG
2009    Sandra MacLean Clunies, CG
2008    Craig Roberts Scott, CG
2007    J. Mark Lowe, CG
2006    Gary Mokotoff
2005    Sherry Irvine, CGRS, FSA (Scot)
2004    Thomas W. Jones, PhD, CG, CGL
2003    Helen F. M. Leary, CG, CGL, FASG, FNGS
2001    Kimberly Morris
2000    Birdie Monk Holsclaw, FUGA
1999    Marie Varrelman Melchiori, CGRS, CGL
1998    Kay Germain Ingalls, CGRS
1997    Kathleen W. Hinckley, CGRS
1996    Joy Reisinger, CGRS
1995    Shirley Langdon Wilcox, CG
1994    Roger Joslyn, CG
1993    Desmond Walls Allen
1992    James W. Warren & Paula Stuart Warren, CGRS
1991    Eileen Polakoff & Suzanne McVetty, CG
1990    Sharon Carmack, CGRS
1989    Elizabeth Shown Mills, CG, CGL
1988    Alice Eicholz, CG
1987    Glade Nelson, AG
1986    Robert Charles Anderson, CG
1985    Johni Cerny
1984    Arlene Eakle
1982    Mary Schwartz, AG
1981    Grahame T. Smallwood Jr., CALS