Skip to Main Content

Professional Achievement Award

The APG Professional Achievement Award was created in 2007 to highlight significant contributions to the field of genealogy by APG members. The prestigious award recognizes individuals with a long-term record of exemplary professional achievement and a strong commitment to individual excellence and professional integrity.

Eligibility: Members in good standing of APG for at least one year prior to nomination, with at least twenty years of professional advancement in the field of genealogy. Nominees for the APG Professional Achievement Award cannot be current members of the APG Board of Directors or APG contractors.

Criteria: A record of long-term exceptional professional achievement highlighted by individual excellence, ethical behavior, and a commitment to advancing and promoting the highest standards of the field through avenues such as published research, teaching, mentorship, innovative organizational leadership, writing or editing for professional publications, and/or the creation of valuable products or services.

Selection: Nominations are encouraged from individual APG members, APG Chapters and Special Interest Groups, and the APG Board of Directors. The recipient is selected from among the nominees by the APG Awards Committee with approval of the Executive Committee.

Past Recipients:
2020   Elizabeth Shown Mills, CG, CGL, FASG
2019    Connie Lenzen, CG, FNGS
2018    Marie Varrelman Melchiori, CG (Emeritus)
2017    Elissa Scalise Powell, CG, CGL
2016    Eileen M. O’Duill, CG
2015    David E. Rencher, AG, CG, FIGRS, FUGA
2014    Claire Mire Bettag, CG
2013    Helen F. M. Leary, CG (Emeritus), CGL, FASG, FNGS
2012    Janet Robyn Worthington, JP, NZRN, Dip. FHS, FSAG
2011    Thomas W. Jones, Ph.D., CG, CGL, FASG, FNGS, FUGA
2010    Christine Rose, CG, CGL, FASG
2009    Loretto Dennis Szucs
2008    Sandra Hargreaves Luebking
2007    Elizabeth Shown Mills, CG, CGL