Skip to Main Content

Laura G. Prescott Award

A new award was unveiled in 2017 to recognize exemplary service to professional genealogy by individual members of the Association of Professional Genealogists and/or organizations in the genealogical community. The Laura G. Prescott Award, named for the award’s first recipient, is among APG’s most prestigious honors.

Laura Prescott served as APG president from 2010 through 2011, preceded by her two years of service as vice president. Her tireless dedication as a mentor, and optimistic approach in supporting others earned her a reputation that left a lasting impact. Additionally, she was an instructor, writer, and genealogy society leader. Laura was most proud of her legacy of teaching and helping others in the genealogy community.

Eligibility: Open to any member or organization in the genealogical community.

Criteria: Exemplary professionalism, continuing encouragement to other professional genealogists, dedicated service to the field of professional genealogy, and a career devoted to uplifting fellow genealogists and improving their career circumstances and opportunities.

Selection: Nominations are welcome from the APG Board of Directors, APG Special Interest Groups and Chapters, and individual members of APG. Selection is made by the APG Awards Committee from among nominees and approved by the Executive Committee.

To recommend a person for this award, please complete the nomination form at (available seasonally).

Past Recipients:

2023   Rick Sayre, CG®,CGL, FUGA
2022   Angela Packer McGhie, CG®
2021   Francine Crowley Griffis, CG®
2020   Loretto (Lou) Dennis Szucs
2019    Paula Stuart-Warren, CG®
2018    Peggy Clemens Lauritzen, AG, FOGS
2017    Laura G. Prescott